« Migrant worker reports | Main | Cancer and scare statistics »

10/26/2007

Comments

frank lee

Does it really matter what the kids think? The parents and education professionals are the one's whose opinions count. Too much grief and wooly thinking has stemmed from giving those who don't have a clue (in this case the children) a voice in matters over which they should have no influence. The bi-lingual school is a great idea and if the kids don't like it then tough. They can knuckle under and learn or go somewhere else and give their (privileged ) place to someone who will gain from it.

Jane Holland

It is an interesting point of view, Frank. As one who has managed to escape parenthood, I tend to feel that I am not in a position to comment on modern parenting. When I was a child, I certainly did what I was told, and didn't assume I had any rights in decisions. Nowadays, even medical care seems to involve patient choice (unless someone wishes to die of course), so education seems to be open to participant choice as well pre-16.

It certainly seems to me that when I was a child, a week was an eternity, and if it was a bad week, misery seemed endless. Now a week passes so quickly. In those days therefore, short term misery, or at least anticipation of being less happy than one hoped, was quite a big thing. Now I just shrug it off.

The comments to this entry are closed.