« Minimum wage rises | Main | Migrant worker reports »

10/08/2007

Comments

johntheexpat

'In this case, about 1 in 100,000.'

But haven't you yourself fallen into one of the traps that statistics always throws up?
Is that 1 in 100,000 uses, or 1 in 100,000 average users per year or 1 in 100,000 average users over the course of an average users life? Statistics are nothing without a framing reference within which I can interpret just how often something occurs, surely. Sorry to be pedantic, but 9 out of 10 pedants will agree with me on this, under normal circumstances.

Jane Holland

Wow, John the Expat - even more pedantic than me! Mind you I have yet to challenge Private Eye - have you done that?

Anyway, and rather more politely, good point. The facts in the book are these - the baseline was that 1 in 100,000 people would have an accoustic neuroma if they didn't use a mobile phone. The risk doubles with 10 years of regular phone use (I know we could get into a whole arguement about what regular use is). Anyway, the coda to this is that a larger and more robust study later found that doubling of risk to be a statistical fluke.

I hope that puts your mind at rest.

johntheexpat

So I guess I will be hard pushed to blame the Mobile Phone Co's for my stinking headaches then. Oh well, perhaps I shall have more luck suing big Pharma or the Oil Giants. They must be guilty of something that affects me.

The comments to this entry are closed.